Namchak Community Blog

Compassion in Action Student Spotlight

What would it look like to serve young people, those at the forefront of changing the world while also embarking on a journey of waking up?

How to Practice Self-Compassion

If you practice meditation, you’re probably familiar with the concept of compassion, which is one of the Four Boundless Qualities of Buddhism.

The History and Importance of Tara

If you’ve studied Buddhism for a little while, you’ve probably heard of Tara. Green Tara and White Tara are some of the commonly discussed Taras, but there are many different forms of Tara

Compassion In Action Fellowship Spotlight

We have been looking forward to the launch of the Compassion in Action Fellowship for a few years. In 2019, we launched the Campus Ambassadors pilot program

Meditation for Anxiety and Difficult Emotions

Meditation for Anxiety and Difficult Emotions” it says, “When we meditate, we can see a parade of our thoughts and with practice, allow them to pass through. We learn to let go of the stories that we often attach to certain thoughts and feelings.

From Prince to Buddha

Did you know that prior to becoming the Buddha, he was a prince named Siddhartha? Read excerpt from Lama Tsomo’s recent book “Ancient Wisdom for Our Times: Tibetan Buddhist Practice: Why Bother? An Introduction”

How to Start Meditating

On the Buddhist path, Calm Abiding serves as the foundation for all other practices. It is a technique used to develop our power of attention and bring our coarse and subtle thoughts to a restful state. In other words, it is resting or abiding in that peaceful state.

The Six Perfections or Paramitas

The Mahayana Path of Buddhism, where we at Namchak find our roots, focuses upon the Six Perfections also known as the Six Paramitas.

The Noble Eightfold Path

The Theravada tradition focuses on the Noble Eightfold Path, according to the Buddha, the Noble Eightfold Path consists of Right View, Right Resolve, Right Speech, Right Action, Right Livelihood, Right Effort, Right Mindfulness, and Right Concentration. We like to think of the first seven as pillars that support Right Concentration.